Pretend. What a lovely word. I used to pretend that I was a princess who fought dragons and saved her prince. I used to pretend that I could travel through space in my pillow fort. I used to pretend that I was a rich heiress looking for love………..

Pretend. What a horrible word. I pretend that I don’t get hurt when someone insults me. I pretend that I know what I want to in life. I pretend  that I’m on my way to getting my dream job. I pretend that I’m happy with myself.

Right now, I’ve used the word pretend so many times that I don’t even know what it means. It gets like that once we start pretending, we no longer know what our true feelings are.

You can either pretend that you are hero trying to find your way in life or you can pretend that you’re happy when you aren’t.

If you asked me, I’d rather not pretend at all but sometimes in life, you need cheering up. You need fantasy, you can’t take yourself seriously all the time. But, at the same time, don’t force yourself to show certain emotions when that is clearly not how you feel.

I guess pretending is like anything else in the world. Too much of it is bad for you.

It’s your choice.

Daily prompt – Pretend

